STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

IN RE: AMENDMENT OF THE RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR

ORDER

WHEREAS, the State Board of Law Examiners has recommended that the Rules of the Supreme Court and of the State Board of Law Examiners for Admission to the Bar be amended to increase certain fees, charged in connection with applications for admission to the Bar of Hinnesota,

NOW THEREFORE, it is hereby ORDERED that Rule 105 of the Rules of the State Board of Law Examiners for Admission to the Bar is hereby amended as follows:

Rule 105. Fees

- A. General. All fees required under these rules shall be paid in the form of certified check, money order or bank draft and payable to the Board. The fee applicable is determined as of the date of filing of a complete application under Rule 100.
- B. Fen for Examination, Not Previously Admitted. An applicant taling the examination for the first time and making timely filing on or before October 15 for the February examination, or on or before March 15 for the July examination, shall submit a fee of \$210 \$300.

An application for the examination submitted after the timely filing date but on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$360 \$450.

C. Fer for Examination, Prior Admission. An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction more than six months preceding the date of the Minnesota examination and making a timely filing shall submit a fee of \$510 \$600.

An application for examination submitted after the timely filing date but on or before December 15 for the February examination, or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$660 \$750.

An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction less than six months preceding the date of the Minnesota examination shall comply with paragraph B.

- D. Repeat Examination. An applicant who has previously been unsuccessful on the examination and filing on or before December 15 for the February examination or on or before May 15 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$210 \$300 and comply with Rule 100.E and Rule 101.D(5).
- Fen for Admission Without Examination. An applicant for admission without examination shall submit a fee of \$500 \$600. An applicant for admission pursuant to Rule VI shall submit a fee of \$700 \$800.
- F. Re: und of Fees. An applicant may request a refund in the amount of \$50 in the following circumstances:
 - (1) An applicant who advises the Board in writing at least four days prior to an examination of the applicant's desire to withdraw the application.
 - (2) An applicant denied permission to take an examination under Rule 101.D(1) or 101.D(5).
- G. Carry-over of Fees. The fee of an applicant declared incligible under Court Rule IV shall be applied to an examination held within the succeeding 15 months at the written request of the applicant received within 30 days of notice of the denial. No other transfers of fees shall be granted.
- H. Transfer of Examination Scores. A request for transfer of scores pursuant to Rule 102.B shall include a fee of \$10. A score report may be obtained by submitting payment of \$10 to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.
- I. Copies of Examination Answers. An unsuccessful applicant may request copies of the applicant's essay answers upon written request to the Board within 30 days of the release of the examination results and submission of a fee of \$15.
- J. Otler Fees. For matters not covered in these Rules, the Director may set reasonable fees which reflect the costs of staff time, services, duplicating, postage, etc.

(Former Rules V and VIII renumbered and amended October 1, 1986; amended May 25, 1988; amended May 10, 1990.)

DATED:

6.20-90

BY THE COURT

OFFICE O : APPELLATE C(URTS

JUN 2 0 1190

ELEI)